Skip to main content
Skip to main content

2023 Kerlan Awards honor Laurie Hertzel and Lauren Stringer

2023 Kerlan Awards honor Laurie Hertzel and Lauren Stringer

2023 Kerlan Awards honor Laurie Hertzel and Lauren Stringer

49 49 people viewed this event.

Join us to celebrate children’s literature at the annual Kerlan Awards!

The Kerlan Award Committee, led by chair Alex Genis, has selected two recipients of the 2023 Kerlan Award to be presented on Tuesday, Oct. 10, 2023 at Elmer L. Andersen Library: Laurie Hertzel, former editor of the Star Tribune Book Review and past president of the National Book Critics Circle; and award-winning artist/writer Lauren Stringer.

This hybrid event takes place in person and via livestream. Seating is limited. Please register if you plan to attend the event.

Register for the Kerlan Award

About the Kerlan Award

The Kerlan Award is given yearly in recognition of an author or illustrator’s exceptional attainments in the creation of children’s literature, support of the creators of children’s literature and/or their generous contributions and support of the University of Minnesota Libraries’ Kerlan Collection of Children’s Literature.


  • Doors open: 5:30 p.m.
  • Program: 6-7 p.m.
  • Book signing and reception: 7-8 p.m.

Event details

What: 2023 Kerlan Award, honoring Laurie Hertzel and Lauren Stringer
When: Tuesday, Oct. 10, 2023 | Doors open 5:30 p.m. | Program 6-7 p.m. | Reception and book signing 7-8 p.m.
Where: Elmer L. Andersen Library | Parking and directions | Online attendance option available via livestream

To register for this event please visit the following URL: →


Date And Time

2023-10-10 @ 05:30 PM to
2023-10-10 @ 08:00 AM



Event Types


Event Category

Share With Friends

© 2024 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement | Acceptable Use of IT Resources